Chief Dr. (Mrs) Nike Akande CON Chairwoman, Board of Trustees

Chief Dr. Mrs. Nike Akande CON attended Queen’s school, Ede from 1958-1962 for her secondary education, and later attended the University of North London from 1965-1968 where she studied Accountancy. She did her postgraduate programme at the prestigious Harvard Business School, Boston, USA. She also attended a management development course at Oxford University, United Kingdom, and an Advance Management Course, at International Institute for Management Development in Lausanne, Switzerland and Insead Business School at Abu Dhabi, UAE.

She was the first Nigerian Woman to be appointed Minister of Industry.


  • She was a twotime Minister of Industry of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
  • She is a Harvard Trained Professional and an Investment Expert.
  • The First Female President of Harvard Business School Association of Nigeria. 2010 to 2012.
  • Past President of The Lagos Chamber of Commerce and Industry (LCCI). DEC. 2015 to DEC. 2017
  • Group Chairman, Emerging Africa Capital Group. Sept. 2018 to Date
  • Chairman of NEPAD Business Group Nigeria (New Partnership for Africa`s Development).
  • Director of PZ Cussions Foundation. 2008 to Date.
  • Director of Union Bank of Nigeria Plc. 2008 to 2017.
  • Trustee of President Olusegun Obasanjo Presidential Library (OOPL). 2016 to Date
  • Member of Governing Council, Igbinedion University, Okada, Edo State.
  • Member of the Board of Trustees of Edwin Clark University, Kiagbodo, Delta State.
  • Former International Consultant to the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), UNIFEM and UNIDO.
  • She is an honorary Life Vice-President of Nigeria Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA).
  • Member of the Advisory Board of NLNG Nigeria Price for Science. 2016 to Date.
  • Member Women Corporate Directors Global Nominating Commission in New York.
  • Former Council Member of The Nigeria-British Chamber of Commerce.
  • Member Women Corporate Directors Global Nominating Commission in New York.
  • Foundation Member of the Nigeria Economic Summit Group
  • Member of Nigeria G15 Economic Corporation Council
  • A Member of the Africa Business Roundtable (ABR). 1997 to Date
  • President, Pan-Africa Organization for Women Recognition
  • Fellow of Institute of Directors (FIOD)
  • Member of Vision 2010 and Vision 2020 of the Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Member of the panel to study and re-organised Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC)
  • Board Member Bank Directors Association of Nigeria (BDAN)
  • Director of the National Insurance Corporation of Nigeria (NICON) 1993-1994
  • Director of Nigeria Industrial Development Bank (NIDB) now Bank of Industry. 1990-1994
  • Member of the Board of Trustee of the National Centre for Women Development, Abuja. 1992-1994
  • Member of Oyo State Political and Economic Affairs Council. 1990
  • Member of Technical Committee of Late Maryam Babangida’s Better Life Programme for Rural Women. 1987

The Harvard Business School, Oxford University, United Kingdom, The International Institute for Management Development in Lausanne, Switzerland and Insead Business School Alumnus was described by the Former President as “A role model and an Inspiration”. She has had a distinguished career in Nigeria’s business landscape and her CV can best be described as intimidating.

She is a recipient of many Honours and Awards among which are:

  • National Honour of Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON) 2014.
  • NACCIMA at 60 and Nigeria at 60 Excellence Awards for Exceptional Public Service and Outstanding Contributions to the Development of Commerce and Industry in Nigeria. May 2021
  • One of the Modern Warriors of Ibadanland. March 2020
  • Life Time Leadership Award by Euroknowledge at the House of Lords, London, UK. 2019
  • Hallmarks of Labour Foundation Role Model Award for Outstanding Contributions to Corporate Governance. 2018
  • She was voted Woman of the Year 2017 by Allure Vanguard Newspapers.
  • A recipient of The SUN Life Time Achievement Award. 2016.
  • A recipient of Vanguard Life Time Achievement Award. 2015
  • She is the recipient of the Lagos State Government 2011 Tax Compliance Award.
  • Africa Federation of Women Entrepreneur Award in Addis-Ababa Ethiopia. 1998
  • School Prefect at Queen’s School, Ede now Queen’s School, Ibadan. 1958-1962 set.
  • Unilever Nigeria Plc. Scholar. 1959 To name a few.

contact details

Social Profiles